GearHeads

News, reviews & great ideas from your GearSource Team!

Marketing your Lighting Company 101 Part 3

Leave a comment

Time to get into a little Social Marketing. You obviously understand that because here you are… reading my blog. You might have found my blog via google, or perhaps it was Twitter or Facebook. Regardless of how you got here, this is Social Marketing.

Blogging is something I recommend everyone get into. To blog on something does not necessary suggest you are an expert on that topic. Just look at ME! You’re simply discussing something that someone else may find relevant. Some of my blogs have been read by hundreds of people! It’s obviously reaching beyond just my staff, family and friends.

To start blogging, you need to locate the blogging site, or software you intend to use. I am partial to WordPress, but others are using Blogger, Blogspot, etc. Choose the one you like, and setup an account.

Depending on the level of features you want – the site or software can be anywhere from free to $20-$30 per month. I suggest you at least begin with a free account.

Choose your topic, frequency and Theme. Each of these blog sites will allow you different levels of customization. As you can tell, I haven’t done a whole lot of that! Make your blog what you think it should be, but don’t kill yourself over the look. It’s more important to get the content right – and be sure your blog can be found.

Start writing!! Creating interesting and relevant blogs. Be sure to keep them frequent as well. I know of far too many people who setup a blog, put in a couple of entries, then leave it for weeks on end. I’ve been guilty as well… but this will hurt the effect of your blog results.

Time to promote that blog! You can setup a Twitter account and Facebook page, then post your blog there. All of these social networking sites make it very easy for you to publish to multiple places at the same time. For example, I might post my new blog link in Facebook, and it automatically updates twitter as well.

How you follow people on Twitter and FB is really up to you. I’ve heard people suggest these are reciprocal and must be treated as such. In other words, “Follow me, i’ll automatically follow you”. I do not agree with this scenario. I think you should follow people who matter to YOU or your business.. not just because they’ve followed you.

Once again, be sure to update your Blog, Facebook page, and Twitter “tweets” often. I would suggest to avoid the pitfalls though. I don’t care what you’re having for lunch, or what your dog did to the carpet this morning. It’s not important, and will likely cause me to de-friend or de-follow you. However, show me a picture each day of your new building going up, or something else interesting and I will always pay attention.

Much like Permission marketing, I feel that social marketing is something that’s earned. Create noise, and you will receive no real result from your efforts but make it fun, interesting or out of the ordinary – and people will come. Plus – like all great things, it’s FREE!

Marcel

Author: Marcel Fairbairn

Our expert sales team, collectively, have over 50 years experience in the sound, lighting, production and music industry.

Leave a Reply

