GearHeads

News, reviews & great ideas from your GearSource Team!

Ya Gotta Love Canada!

Leave a comment

I really love living in Florida. Let me start by saying that, and appreciating the weather, ocean, and all the scenery etc that Florida has to offer. We have recently located to Palm Beach, an area we love, and will grow to appreciate even more.Anyway, that being said – many who know me know that I am from Calgary Canada, a great place to grow up, and even better place to return for visits. A couple of years ago, my wife and I decided to purchase some real estate in the area, and settled in on a little town called Canmore. Most people have heard of Calgary, and some have even heard of a great little nordic town called Banff. Well just between the two at the eastern edge of the Canadian Rockies is Canmore Alberta. Long ago, I remember driving through Canmore every time I travelled to Banff, but never really stopped in. Now, Canmore has become a booming little tourist center of its own. All that aside, there’s so much the place has to offer.For starters, the people. You will have to travel far to find people as kind or caring as the locals here. I remember one of our first trips where we met a local on the street who put down his groceries to point out directions to the restaurant we were looking for. In the end he picked up his groceries and said “Follow me, I’ll walk there with you!”. Just dealing with everyone from store clerks to real estate agents, hospitals – even the police – it’s just downright pleasant. These people, and their passion for others, and for the outdoors, that’s what really makes this place special.Of course, Canmore is in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, which happens to be one of the most beautiful places on earth. Banff is a beautiful place, but the difference in Canmore is that it’s sort of a valley where you’ve got panoramic mountain views in every direction. In Banff, and many other mountain towns, you are on a mountain and see the valley, or you’re on the ground looking up at a mountain, but rarely do you see mountains in every direction as you do in Canmore. One range in particular which helps make Canmore famous is called Three Sisters. Check the Webcam here for a live view.Obviously, skiing is a big attraction in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is conveniently located within about 20 / 30 minutes of 5 major ski areas including Fortress Mountain, Mount Nakiska, Mount Norquay, Sunshine Village and Lake Louise. My favorites are Sunshine and Lake Louise. I actually broke my leg skiing a new run at Sunshine when I was 14 years old. I’ve since mellowed just a bit.In the summer, there’s Mountain Biking, fishing, hiking, site seeing and more.As for “eats” there are actually quite a few great restaurants in Canmore, and in neighboring Banff. You will not go starving!Of course, no winter trip to Canmore would be complete without a trip to a Eagles Hockey game! We’ll be doing that tomorrow.Anyway, I am sitting here, looking out at the mountains on my Thanksgiving trip to our little paradise in the mountains and was suddenly inspired to write a little bit about it. Anytime you are interested in visiting the area, please feel free to email or call me and I’d be happy to give you suggestions.Signing off for now because I am off for my Thanksgiving Morning Massage!

Author: Marcel Fairbairn

Our expert sales team, collectively, have over 50 years experience in the sound, lighting, production and music industry.

Leave a Reply

